South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association

Log in

J. Bratton Davis Professionalism Award

This award is named in honor of J. Bratton Davis, this district’s first bankruptcy judge under the Bankruptcy Code, and at the time of his retirement, the longest serving bankruptcy judge in this district. Judge Davis always epitomized the best of the legal profession: academic scholarship and perfection in his written opinions; considerate and polite to all who appeared before him; and the consummate gentleman in all that he did. He set the standard for professionalism for bench and bar, and it is hoped that the standard that he has set will remain the goal of all that are involved in bankruptcy in this district.


The award is granted on an annual basis, and decided by the board of directors of the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association. There is no requirement that the award be given each year; if there are no nominations, or no decision on candidates, then the award may not be made in such a year. The board shall accept nominations from any source. The award recipient will be announced at the annual meeting of the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association. The recipient of the award shall be that individual that, among the available candidates, most exhibits the following traits:

  1. Unimpeachable integrity.
  2. Devotion to legal scholarship.
  3. Civility to all.
  4. Unfailing professionalism in all ways.
  5. Impressive contributions and improvements to the legal profession.

The pool of available candidates includes any individual that works in the bankruptcy profession in South Carolina: judges, lawyers, accountants, law school professors, court or U.S. Trustee staff. The award will be presented in the form of an appropriate plaque, and a summary of prior award winners will be posted in the lobby of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of South Carolina, provided the General Services Administration and the Clerk of Court concur. All costs of the award production shall be borne by the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association. The Secretary of the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association shall ensure that notice of the most recent award winner is given to the appropriate publications. The most current year winner shall also serve on the J. Bratton Davis Scholarship award committee.

Nominations and supporting materials should be submitted to Aimee Hiers at SCBLA Headquarters.

J. Bratton Davis Award Winners

2023  Honorable David Duncan

2020  Rick Mendoza

2018  William H. Short

2016  George B. Cauthen

2015  Ryan Hovis

2014  Honorable John Waites

2013  R. Geoff Levy

2012  W. Clarkson McDow, Jr.

2011  C. Jennalyn Dalrymple

2009  Timothy Stack

2007  Donald H. Stubbs

2004  Judge Wm. Thurmond Bishop

© 2021 SCBLA

Call Us:

Phone: (803) 252-5646

Toll Free: (800) 445-8629


1 Windsor Cove, Suite 305

Columbia, SC 29223

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software