Telephone: (800) 445-8629

Billy Robinson Award

William E.S. Robinson Public Service Award Criteria

The South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association presents the William E.S. Robinson

Public Service Award each year at the Annual Seminar. This honor is awarded to a SCBLA member selected by the Board of Directors, as having rendered distinguished public service to the legal profession and the community as was exemplified by Billy Robinson during his life.


Only members of the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association are eligible. To make the award nonpolitical, active judges and elected public officeholders are excluded, but past service in such positions may be considered.


Please address all that apply:

  • The nominees has shown individuality through creative problem-solving while setting an inspirational example of industriousness, unselfish dedication and determination causing him/her to be admired and respected by his/her peers.
  • The individual has demonstrated in dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor through pro bono services.
  • The individual has participated in an activity that resulted in recognizing an unsatisfied need or in extending services to under served segments of the population.
  • The individual has made an extraordinary contribution toward improving lives of low   income persons either by direct intervention or indirect organization and/or empowerment.
  • The individual exhibits a quest for fairness and truth and a history of commitment.
  • The individual exhibits high ethical standards and shows courtesy and respect to the court, fellow members of the bar and the client community.
  • The individual has provided service to his/her profession by participating in efforts that will benefit the bankruptcy legal community as a whole.

Nominations and supporting materials should be submitted to Aimee Hiers at SCBLA Headquarters.  Other information or documentation that may be submitted include the following:

  1. Resume of nominee.
  2. Materials which demonstrate the candidate’s community and/or legal contribution, including articles, brochures or other documents.
  3. A description of the services provided and a list of all activities or public service projects.
  4. Letters of support from or names, telephone numbers and addresses of others who are aware of the candidate’s community or legal contribution.

William E.S. Robinson Award Winners

2019  Keith Poston
2018  J. Edwin McDonnell
2017   Sean Markham
2016  Janet B. Haigler
2015  Susan Ingles
2014  John Butler
2013  G. William McCarthy
2012  Lex A. Rogerson Jr.
2011  Suzanne G. Grigg
2010  Kevin Campbell
2009  R. Geoff Levy
2008  Pamela Beasley
2007  Edward Bailey
2006  Lex A. Rogerson Jr.
2005  Robin L. Blume
2004  Linda K. Barr, Edward L. Bailey, Robert H. Cooper, Gina R. McMaster, William C. McMaster III
2003  Jan M. Baker
2002  C. Jennalyn Dalrymple
2001  Dana E. Wilkinson
2000  Barbara George Barton
1999  Julio E. Mendoza
1998  Sharon K. Butler
1997  John R. Lester
1996  Michael M. Beal
1995  John A. Pincelli
1994  Jane Harris Downey
1993  George B. Cauthen
1992  Tobias G. Ward
1991  Michael J. Cox, Jeanne C. Roberts, Cathy F. Sease, John T. Stack, Donald H. Stubbs